Mississippi Auto Insurance

Limit exposure to risk on the road with Mississippi auto insurance.
Compare, shop and customize quotes from top-rated insurance carriers.

Get the Mississippi auto insurance coverage you need

Mississippi ranks first for irresponsible drivers as of 2022 due to the number of uninsured drivers, citations for driving under the influence and traffic fatalities in the state. These risks indicate why drivers need Mississippi auto insurance policies that meet or exceed minimum liability requirements.

The average monthly quote for car insurance in the Magnolia State is $215 a month. Use the VIU by HUB comparison tool to find the most affordable coverage to reduce risk while driving in Mississippi.

Manage risks on Mississippi roads

There are over 2 million licensed drivers in Mississippi. The limited availability of public transportation outside of urban areas, such as Jackson, means that the majority of people of driving age in this state have licenses to drive private passenger vehicles.

In addition to leading the nation in rates of distracted driving, there are several more reasons why insurers consider Mississippi the most dangerous state for drivers:

       Mississippi averages 25.4 traffic fatalities per 100,000 people.

       There are 1.9 deaths per 100,000 million vehicle miles traveled in the state.

       Mississippi has the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the nation.

In a state where 29.4% of drivers were uninsured in 2019, auto insurance can provide much-needed protection from risk. Although Mississippi law does not require policyholders to carry additional coverage for Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists, coverage that pays for injuries or property damage cause by drivers without insurance or with insufficient limits can protect insured drivers from having to pay these costs out of pocket.

Minimum auto insurance requirements for Mississippi

The Mississippi Insurance Department requires drivers in this state to maintain coverage for bodily injuries or property damage. Mississippi is an at-fault state in which the driver responsible for a collision must pay expenses for injuring others or damaging property either through an insurance policy or out of pocket.

State-mandated liability limits

Every car insurance policy in the state of Mississippi should meet or exceed state requirements. The minimum limits for liability coverage in Mississippi are as follows:

       At least $25,000 per person for bodily injury.

       At least $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries.

       At least $25,000 per accident for damage to property.

Policies with limits higher than these minimums, policies with additional coverages like Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist, Collision or Comprehensive Coverage have higher monthly and yearly rates.

Average Mississippi auto insurance quotes

Mississippi ranks about average among the 50 states for car insurance costs as of 2022.

A variety of factors determine policy costs for Mississippi drivers, which could result in higher quotes for Liability-Only, Full or Comprehensive Coverage.

Factors for Mississippi auto insurance rates

Insurers calculate Mississippi auto insurance quotes on the basis of several considerations. Any of the following data points could drive up the monthly and annual costs of car insurance coverage:

       Driver age.

       Garaging location.

       Credit score.

       Traffic citations.

       Previous claims.

A policyholder’s driving record and vehicle specifications also factor into car insurance premiums.

The cost of insuring a teenage driver in Mississippi is among the highest in the nation, as is the cost of insuring a driver under the age of 25.

Choose your preferred level of coverage

Mississippi drivers should consider carrying higher limits and additional coverages to offset the risks of driving in the Hospitality State. In this at-fault state, the driver who causes an accident is required to pay for any injuries to other drivers or damage to property. Policy options are available to raise liability limits or reduce expenses that a driver could otherwise have to pay out of pocket.

Collision Coverage

Collision Coverage pays for the cost of repairing or replacing a vehicle, no matter who is at fault in an accident. Adding Collision Coverage costs slightly more than Liability-Only policies but can pay off in the event that a policyholder needs to repair or replace a vehicle. Consider the pros and cons of paying out of pocket for repairs or to replace a totaled vehicle versus paying a nominal amount more every month to lighten this financial burden.

Comprehensive Coverage

Comprehensive Coverage pays for vehicle damage that is caused by elements other than collision. This coverage pays for damage from flood, vandalism, fallen tree limbs and theft.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage for accidents that involve Uninsured or Underinsured Motorists can be a smart choice in a state where over one-quarter of drivers were uninsured in 2019. This coverage pays for expenses when you are hit by an at-fault driver who either didn’t carry insurance (uninsured) or didn’t carry enough insurance to address all the medical bills or car repair costs (underinsured). Without this type of coverage, an insured driver could end up having to pay for injuries or damage that a driver who is uninsured or does not carry sufficient coverage causes on the road.

This information is intended for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.


The Hill

United States Department of Transportation

Insurance Newsnet

Insurance Information Institute

Mississippi Insurance Department

Auto insurance in Mississippi by city

Understand risks, minimum state coverage requirements, average costs and other specifics that can impact auto insurance policies and premium rates in your city.