Kansas auto insurance

VIU by HUB can help you find affordable auto insurance quotes in Kansas that meet your needs.
Compare, shop and customize quotes from top-rated insurance carriers.

Kansas auto insurance guide

Auto accidents are costly in terms of injuries and lives lost. In 2021, Kansas auto accidents caused 17,476 injuries and 424 deaths. They also cause significant economic damage. Car crashes in the state cost drivers over $1.9 million per year, according to data from the Kansas Department of Transportation. Kansas auto insurance provides financial protection when an accident happens.

Kansas driving conditions

Inattention while driving has been the state's leading cause of car accidents for the past decade. The other top causes include:

·        Following too closely.

·        Failure to yield the right of way.

·        Animals.

·        Driving too fast for road conditions.

Kansas ranked as the second worst state in the country for distracted driving in 2020. At a rate of over 2,200 per year, distracted driving is the fifth most common cause of accidents in the state.

Eating, reading, talking to passengers and applying makeup account for over 60% of distracted driving accidents. Using cell phones causes 25% and using other electronic devices causes 10%. Men are particularly at risk, with over 70% of distracted driving accidents nationwide involving a male driver.

Age also plays a role, with drivers aged 15 to 20 being the most likely to get into a distracted driving accident the largest component in the accident rate for all drivers under the age of 25.

Thanksgiving weekend is one of the most dangerous times of the year to drive on Kansas roads. Rush hour is the most dangerous time of day, with crashes peaking between 5:00 p.m. and 5:59 p.m. And Friday is the worst day of the week; more than 10,000 accidents and 70 deaths happen on Fridays, compared to lows of 6,482 crashes on Sundays and 37 deaths on Mondays.

Coverages required in Kansas

Kansas law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:

Liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage

Minimum amount required by law:

·        $25,000/person for bodily injury.

·        $50,000/accident for bodily injury.

·        $25,000/accident for property damage.

Bodily Injury

If you or someone else you allow to drive your car causes an accident that injures or kills someone, this coverage pays for their medical expenses, funeral costs, rehabilitation and other accident-related expenses. It also pays for your legal expenses if someone sues you because of a car accident.

Property Damage

Property Damage liability covers your legal liability for damage to someone else's vehicle or other property. This includes damage you may cause to public property, such as trees or guardrails.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP or No-Fault)

Minimum amount required by law:

·        $4,500 per person for medical expenses.

·        $900 per month for one year for disability or loss of income.

·        $25 per day for in-home services.

·        $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses.

·        $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses.

·        Survivor benefits of disability and loss of income up to $900 per month for one year.

·        In-home services up to $25 per day for one year

Personal Injury Protection pays for medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages and in-home assistance for you and your passengers if injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Passengers who own their own cars collect under their policy.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist

Minimum amount required by law:

·        $25,000 per person

·        $50,000 per accident

This required coverage pays for the same damages as liability insurance, except it covers you and your passengers when someone else causes an accident and they either do not have insurance or do not have enough insurance to cover your damages. This coverage also applies when a hit-and-run driver causes an accident, or you or your family members sustain injuries while riding a bicycle.

Collision Coverage

You can purchase this optional coverage to pay for the repair or replacement of your vehicle regardless of who caused the accident. However, a deductible usually applies.

Comprehensive Coverage

You can purchase this optional coverage to pay for damage to your vehicle caused by something other than a collision, such as hail, vandalism, animals or theft. A deductible usually applies.

Average cost of Kansas auto insurance

Kansas drivers pay an annual premium of $405 for minimum coverage and $1,700 for full coverage. Nationally, the average is $572 per year for minimum coverage.

Getting a quote can help you find the lowest rates. You can easily compare multiple auto insurance companies by requesting auto insurance quotes in Kansas from VIU by HUB.

Factors that affect Kansas auto insurance rates

Insurance companies determine auto insurance quotes in Kansas based on both individual factors and factors related to where you live.


Residents of areas with high accident or crime rates tend to pay more than the state average whereas residents in rural areas usually pay less than the state average.


Young drivers tend to pay the highest rates. Rates begin to drop for a 25-year-old driver and continue to decline for drivers up to age 60, rising again when a driver hits age 70 and higher.

Driving record

Next to your age, your driving record has the biggest impact on the rates you pay. A DUI may increase your rates by an average of 75%. Accidents can boost costs by 40%, and a speeding ticket can boost costs by 20% or more.

This information is intended for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.


Kansas Department of Transportation



Holiday Statistics

Time Trends

Kansas Insurance Department

Auto insurance in Kansas by city

Understand risks, minimum state coverage requirements, average costs and other specifics that can impact auto insurance policies and premium rates in your city.