New Hampshire auto insurance
Compare, shop and customize quotes from top-rated insurance carriers.
Protect yourself with auto insurance
Live free or die: New Hampshire’s state motto speaks to the free spirit of its residents, as well as providing some insight into its legislation. Unlike most other states in the nation, there is no law mandating car owners to purchase New Hampshire auto insurance. Although the state has historically been one of the safe places to drive in the nation, the number of fatalities related to accidents has seen a 14% increase over the last few years. On average 118 people lose their lives in a traffic accident each year. While there is no insurance requirement, comparing New Hampshire auto insurance quotes can help protect you when you travel the roads.
Understand the hazards on the road
Other drivers aren’t the only cause for concern when you travel across the state. There are several roads and intersections that can place drivers at an increased risk for an accident:
• Intersection of Routes 111 and 3A in Hudson.
• Intersection of Main Street and Route 111 in Nashua.
• Intersection of Loudon Road and D’Amonte Drive in Concord.
These intersections are hazardous because of the traffic patterns and congestion, but any road becomes more dangerous to travel in inclement weather conditions. Winters in New Hampshire bring snow, hail and ice, often decreasing visibility and tire traction. The combination of hazards increases your risk of a car accident and the need for car insurance.
Though insurance isn’t required, the state has established Financial Responsibility Requirements. This means that drivers must be able to demonstrate that they are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements in the event of an at-fault accident. For most people, auto insurance is the way to meet the sufficient funds requirement. A comparison of New Hampshire auto insurance quotes is available from VIU by HUB, allowing you to see what kind of coverage you can afford.
Explore your options
There are several forms of car insurance available to New Hampshire motorists. Liability is the most basic coverage. Comprehensive and Collision Coverages pay for damage to your vehicle when you are in an at-fault accident or have damage to your vehicle caused by other than collision (comprehensive coverage). Full Coverage includes Liability, Collision and Comprehensive Coverage, and is often required by a lender if your vehicle is financed. Consider the following coverage offerings.
When you cause a car accident, Liability Coverage will help with the expenses of the legal counsel if you are sued for the incident. There are two kinds of Liability: Bodily Injury and Property Damage. If another driver or motorist makes a claim against you for an accident, this covers their medical costs and auto repair costs up to the limits of your policy.
If you choose to buy Liability Coverage, New Hampshire requires a minimum amount that follows a 25/50/25 breakdown. This means you must have:
• $25,000 per person for Bodily Injury.
• $50,000 for two or more people injured in an accident.
• $25,000 for Property Damage.
Keep in mind that this coverage doesn’t pay for damage to your vehicle or for your own medical expenses. You will need additional coverage for these concerns.
Collision or Comprehensive Coverage
When you are looking at New Hampshire auto insurance quotes, Collision or Comprehensive Coverage addresses the expenses you face if you cause an accident. Collision covers damage to your vehicle when contact occurs with another object or automobile, while Comprehensive Coverage pays for damage to your vehicle from reasons other than a collision, like fire, vandalism or weather-related incidents. Your policy will have a deductible and limits that apply when a claim is filed.
Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist
In some cases, a driver's policy limits aren’t enough to handle the expenses of the accident, or the individual may not carry insurance at all. When you aren’t at fault in an incident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, this coverage can help provide coverage for your expenses. When you purchase this coverage, New Hampshire law requires you to purchase uninsured motorist coverage with limits equal to your Liability limit.
If you choose to purchase New Hampshire auto insurance, the law requires you to also get at least $1,000 in Medical Payments coverage. This will help with the medical expenses related to you or your passengers’ injuries, regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
Figure out the costs for New Hampshire auto insurance
Fortunately for New Hampshire residents, the state has some of the least expensive car insurance costs in the nation. The average monthly cost is $100, more that 50% less than the national average for car insurance. If you meet the right eligibility criteria, you could see the monthly cost drop even lower. There are several factors affecting New Hampshire auto insurance quotes.
Your credit score has a significant impact on how affordable car insurance will be, as someone with excellent credit will get a low-cost policy while someone with bad credit may pay twice as much or more.
Your driving record also affects your rates. A driver with a clean driving history will get much better rates than someone with a past at-fault claim, speeding ticket or DUI. Getting a quote on New Hampshire auto insurance from VIU by HUB can help you determine what your monthly rate would be.
Insurance companies also determine rates based on factors that are often out of your control. One of these is the city where you live. Different cities experience variations in traffic congestion, theft, vandalism or other incidents that could increase the risk of damage to the vehicle.
This information is intended for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.