Utah auto insurance
Compare, shop and customize quotes from top-rated insurance carriers.
Choosing the right Utah auto insurance
Utah residents enjoy around 93,000 miles of roadway across their gorgeous state, but looks can be deceiving when it comes to safe traveling. The scenery of the Beehive State isn’t the only thing that is notable, as recent statistics reveal how dangerous traveling across the state can be. Some reports rank the state negatively concerning driver safety, with one survey placing it dead last among the nation for having the worst drivers and attributing this rating to excessive speeding infractions and a top 10 placement for DUIs, accidents and other citations. Fortunately, Utah auto insurance can help protect you from risks on the road.
Protecting yourself on the road
Avoiding traffic citations and accidents is as much about controlling your own behaviors as it is about staying vigilant concerning other drivers. Inclement weather is a serious concern when traveling across Utah, especially during winter snowstorms and freezing temperatures. Following cautious driving habits can reduce your risk of causing an accident, but you still need to watch the others on the road. While you can’t control what someone else does behind the wheel, you can control how you deal with damage following an accident.
Utah law requires drivers to carry auto insurance, but what kind of coverage and how much you have is a personal decision. Though motorists enjoy an average cost of $1,120 a year for auto insurance, which is about 8% lower than the rest of the nation, the possible risks on the road indicate that you need more than basic coverage. A quote comparison from VIU by HUB will let you know how much protection you can afford.
Understanding the basic requirements for Utah auto insurance
In an effort to protect all motorists, Utah law establishes a minimum liability coverage of 25/65/15 before registering a vehicle. In addition to this basic liability, the state also requires personal injury protection:
• $25,000 per person for Bodily Injury.
• $65,000 per accident for Bodily Injury.
• $15,000 per accident for Property Damage.
• $3,000 per accident for Personal Injury Protection.
Bodily Injury and Property Damage are third-party coverages, meaning they cover individuals other than the policy holder if an accident occurs. Non-compliance could result in fees, jail time, penalties and possible license suspension.
Given the trends in Utah car accidents, you may want to consider purchasing higher liability limits and buying optional coverages. These additions are affordable when you compare quotes between insurers and recognize the factors impacting your rate.
Getting affordable auto insurance in Utah
The average monthly cost of insurance is around $235 a month, but this varies according to several factors. Insurance rates are influenced by driver history, age, gender, credit score, location, automobile and more. For example, a driver with a poor credit score may pay double per month than a driver with excellent credit.
Recognizing the factors affecting Utah auto insurance rates
Though the state’s average auto insurance cost is below the national average, certain factors could significantly impact your rates. Your location in the state is a key determination, as residing near a big city presents higher risks than those living out in a less-populated area.
The most affordable rates are provided for safe drivers with an excellent driving history, a good credit score and an age range between the 30s to 60s, but a VIU by HUB Advisor can help you find a great policy no matter what. For those who aren’t sure they can afford the necessary coverage, VIU by HUB provides a comparison tool that accounts for influencing factors and provides the most coverage for your budget.
Knowing the options for Utah auto insurance coverages
Although having the minimum liability limits will keep your insurance rates low, this decision could ultimately cost more overall if you are at fault for a serious accident. You should consider purchasing higher liability limits and familiarize yourself with the following optional coverages that are available.
Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist
Despite the laws requiring auto insurance, some motorists may disregard these requirements and travel illegally on the road. It’s also possible that the coverage they carry isn’t enough to cover the damages or losses you receive from an accident.
While state law does not require you to purchase Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist coverage, you may want to consider purchasing it. This coverage pays for your expenses when you are hit by an at-fault driver who either didn’t carry insurance (uninsured) or didn’t carry enough insurance to address all the medical bills or car repair costs (underinsured).
Liability insurance doesn’t pay to fix the damage done to your car in an accident, nor does it cover damage caused by other situations, such as crashing into a tree. Collision Coverage will help pay for damages to your vehicle, or even a replacement up to the limit of the policy, after you meet your deductible.
While Comprehensive Coverage is optional, a lender financing your vehicle may require it. This policy can help cover the costs of damage to the car from a covered peril other than collision. These perils typically include hail, fire, theft and vandalism. A deductible usually applies before the insurer pays the claim.
This information is intended for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.