Auto Insurance in Jacksonville, NC
Compare, shop and customize quotes from top-rated insurance carriers.
Getting Car Insurance in 5 Easy Steps
Jacksonville, North Carolina, is an up-and-coming town with an average age of 22.8, the youngest in the country. If you're moving to this area for military employment at New River Air Station or Camp Lejeune, or if you just want to live near the coast, it's important to have car insurance in Jacksonville NC ready when you arrive. If it's been a while since you bought a policy or you've never done it before, follow these five easy steps to get coverage.
1. Know Your State's Requirements
North Carolina requires you to have uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance and several types of liability insurance:
- $25,000 of property damage coverage
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage for one victim
- $60,000 of bodily injury coverage for more than one victim
This coverage is essential even if you stick to backroads such as Huff Drive, King Street, and Banks Street.
If a police officer pulls you over and you don't have proof of insurance, he or she can fine you between $50 and $150. If this happens more than once, you could lose your driving privileges or go to jail. As a result, it's best to get car insurance in Jacksonville NC as soon as possible.
2. Learn Your Other Options for Coverage
These forms of insurance are the only required ones in North Carolina, but there are many other kinds of auto insurance. Collision coverage helps you repair your car after it gets hit, and personal injury protection covers your hospital bills. Comprehensive coverage assists with damages that don't happen when you're driving, such as vandalism and storm damage. Make a list of the types of coverage you're interested in and ask your insurance agent whether they're a good idea for you.
3. Check Your Driving Record
When you meet with your insurance agent to discuss car insurance in Jacksonville NC, he or she will ask to see your driving record. This policy allows insurance companies to determine how likely you are to get in an accident and whether you can be trusted to keep up with your premiums.
Contact your Department of Motor Vehicles to review your record before your insurance agent requests it. If you have points from serious moving violations such as reckless driving or driving under the influence, it may be hard for you to get coverage or your premiums may be higher. Usually, North Carolina leaves points on drivers' records for three years, but you can get them taken off if you successfully pass a special driving course. Ask your insurance agent if signing up for one of these courses is right for you.
4. Meet With an Insurance Agent
Once you've educated yourself about North Carolina's requirements and determined what coverage you want, it's time to meet with an insurance agent. Bring your driver's license, address, vehicle registration, social security number, and banking information to your appointment. Also, if you have a spouse or kids who can drive, bring their information, too.
5. Cancel Your Old Policy
Maintaining your car insurance in Jacksonville NC is essential, but paying for two policies at once is unnecessary. As soon as your new policy takes effect, cancel your old plan. Remember, you can receive fines for lapsed coverage, so make sure that your old plan doesn't expire too early.
This information is intended for general informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal advice.